top of page

In-Separable 1.1


I made "oil".

But it doesn't behave as crude oil would when it is in water. Forcing me to switch up my initial performance plan.

This bugged me a bit, but only because I still want to figure out how to successfully colour an edible oil black, without it separating. I've tried blackstrap molasses, brown corn syrup (I thought for sure this'd be the one), tried emulsifying various food colour substances (liquid, gel, paste) into various edible oils... it was only when I combined three elements: olive oil, blackstrap molasses and both gel/paste food colouring. It makes for a real slick, oily...oil.

But it sinks in the water, instead of floats. ---->Link

So, potentially scrapping my initial idea entirely re: documentation...

I'll put an emphasis on exploring multiple iterations...

and alter the ways I (must) choose to consume this product...

poetic... the process echoing the political agency we desperately need to engage with before the position of having a choice is eliminated completely.

Smell: blackstrap molasses has a sharp pungency between sweet and bitter and doesn't smell of any oil product I've engaged with, but it does create a similar sensory reaction for me.

Looking forward to performing In-Separable next week. Full schedule of all 5 performances coming up is here.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page