top of page

Poetry 2.0

Writing has always been a close friend of mine, but we've been distant for some time now. Trying to get something out, I could taste the rusted corrosion of my words, but finally, however trivial, this came out.

The Relativity of Time in Space

Would you still be able

To recognize my mind

The thoughts that rise

In the eye

Of early morning hours.

In these moments, I find myself

Absorbed,

Observing the street lamp

and occasional passing car

Cascade light

Across my curtains

As moonlight does

A small pond.

I imagine it is there

That I would find you

Roosting inside of a secret

That is carried upon

A fleeting stream of light

Or somewhere

Equally as delicate- a mossy nook

Sheltered within the forest

Standing bare upon a dampened stone

Weaving sighs of wisdom into silk

Then wrapping it around your elbows and hair.

Gently writhing in pleasure

By a touch of wind

My dreams wrinkle

In unison with my curtains

While gradually becoming undone

With the rising smell

Of slowly warming pavement

And well-kept lawns

I can sense my heart

Too heavy to stay

Inside of my ribs

Which it falls from

Through the mattress, the floor

As if it were made of tissue paper

My heart sinks through

Layers of planet

Reaching its edge opposite from where I now lay

Plummeting neither down nor up

Only outward

Into the space between the stars.

Spheres of indigo

Magenta castles of clouds

Lavender oceans, frozen and singing

It is

Slower, here

My thoughts dappled

With dust

Made of small moons.

Crawling into my eyelashes

The sun begins making its nest

A coolness returns

Filling the cavity

Beneath my ribs

The weight of air in my lungs

Caressing the empty space

That is now between them

I notice my spleen

Crooked against the bed

The missing latch on the bureau drawer

A hair on the floor boards

I stir inwards in spite of daytime

Scratching my ears

With its mundane bustling

My psyche plagued

By having to dress words

In layman's terms

And so, I suppose

What I aim to say, in those terms

Is that despite distance

Or the relativity in time

You reside within me

A cosmic weight, a knowing

Far beyond the magnetic pull

Of a lunar tide

The sheets folding themselves

Into a neatly sewn sleep

Of their own, I leave them

And you

Carrying the hair

From the floorboard

Against my heel.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page