top of page

Theoretical Poetry: What I Fail or Achieve

Agnes Cecile, Drawing Restraint, 2010

One assignment in my cultural theory class was to prepare a presentation that analyzed a text from a specific theorist. My text was Judith Butler's Performance Acts and Gender Constitution: An Essay in Phenomenology and Feminist Theory. Because most pedagogical systems are entrenched with syllabi outlining regurgitation and structure, the second part of the assignment was to write a reaction to your presentation... or...something along those lines. Basically, the directives translate as follows "now that you've expanded your mind and perception, confine your reflections and ideas into a small, compact space, similar to the spaces that theorists like Butler, Foucault and hooks work to tear down".

So... I completed the assignment and wrote the 500 words:

…Just give me an A+, Deneige

You know how lame this written part of the assignment is--

Forcing me to reiterate

What I have already worked hard at preparing

To present for (and in)

A classroom space that is open, one that prefers questions

To answers

And allows for words and language to breathe--

And then confine myself and

Box my ideas in even further

Into a five hundred word statement

(alright, I’m at seventy-one, not including these words)

That pretty much goes exactly against what JB is questioning

So like her, instead of being interested to tell you

About what I think my presentation did

I’m more interested in the undoing of it

And fuck containing my words into an analytical space

That just told myself and forty other students

Words that every ear needs to bleed with

From an explosive brain injection

Of a truth and voice so fundamental

For the marginalized individuals

Who want, need and deserve love

And to express it equally

Many of whom never have been ‘permitted’ to experience it

Or have to repress their desire for it

Or have been shamed for their expression of it

Or who have it, and somehow keep it hidden behind private walls

Or who are ‘lucky’ to experience it outwardly, in our oh so liberal country

Where we confuse ‘blessed’ or ‘lucky’ as synonymous with equality

Whatever the case, we are still forbidden

As if love is a material

That can be stripped from our hands and hearts

All because we inhabit

A “...[culture] that so readily punishes or marginalizes

Those who fail to perform the illusion of gender essentialism” (Butler 528).

Well. I presented. And people were relatively quiet

(I wonder why---maybe the end of class, or maybe they all just had their sexualities..er... I mean, minds rocked).

Regardless, I was still giddy and eager to present--

Judith Butler is amazing

And I had to hold back my urge to state

That I’m already a mild addict

I’ve certainly broken the skin

If I’m being clever with words...

And oooHHHhhhh

Is Judith Butler ever clever

I felt it difficult to articulate her poetic way with theory, her

circular

quotes casual opinions

ideas that float

seamlessly between paragraphs

pulling you from start to finish

realizing

that I’ve made a full circle

a full revolution

the quintessence of the word--

revolution

around and through

change

through and around

evolution

and I’m undone

and redone

and then choose to redo

and undo again

just as her silky, provoking thesis

weaves between and under

through and atop

her worded ideas

planting catalytic seeds

into the pores of wayward faces

dis-easing them from

the black and white

hegemonic binary

that is

sed

i

men

ted

deep within our cultural

sub-un-conscious real(ident)ities 1 2

__________________________

1. Inspired by the writing strategies (complexities) cultural theorists have used, my ‘theoretical poetry’ demands the reader’s time and acute attention to sit with and unfold the ideas, to work through the words and language and then to reflect. My resources were my presentation, Judith’s Butler’s text, and a bit of materiality re: Marx, dominance and love re: bell hooks, genotext and metalanguage re: Kristeva, and some ISA work re: Althusser, if you can find it.

2. I was chatting via Skype about the written component of this assignment with my best buddy, complaining out my frustrations. He helped me by riffing on creative ways to write the paper, and we got carried away and then: On 14-06-14, at 9:00 PM, M. Amirault wrote: but i should write a normal one. I might fail. lol

and that was the saddest thing I’ve ever written. Fuck fearing systems that tell me what I Fail or Achieve.

Works Cited

Butler, Judith. “Performance Acts and Gender Constitution: An Essay in Phenomenology and Feminist Theory. Theatre Journal. 40:4. The Johns Hopkins University Press. 1988. 519-531. Rpt. in SOCS 201 Introduction to Cultural Theory. Coursepack. Ed. Magnolia Pauker: Emily Carr Institute, 2014. Print.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page