top of page

Poetry 1:0 clumsy crumple

exhale your reluctant obedience in a huff

shaggy dog

with a shackle bound grin

drag my heavy world

chain leash around your neck

if only I'd pick up the handle

but there's no owner, here.

and my clumsy full-speed ahead

forcefully steps in front of a

tired tongue, hauling loyally in tow

close enough to reach

the toppling clumsy crumple

in time

but wait-

my feet tripped

from the growth they're taking

and my body is slowly, surely

tagging behind

soon enough

the added links to your long leash

will be the clumsy crumple

when my hands match my feet

and I can pick up those chains

until then

follow the promised treat

because I have one

but I threw it ahead

an invisible toss, I'm sure

we'll both come to find

it has always been in

both of our pockets

smelling sweet and true.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page