top of page

Poefictiontry 2.0

The images for this blog post is of Florence Thompson, culturally dubbed "Migrant Mother", photographed by Dorothea Lange in 1936. A telling of the story can be found here, but basically the larger photograph is described as the "iconic image" of the Great Depression-- It's the image Wikipedia uses to describe the Depression, go figure.


I've spent some time with this representation and it's been fascinating to mull over and would encourage people to read about this photograph and to do the same. My interest is the iconic status this image has received, and that it is of a woman. Although, my writing here has been put on complete halt since exploring some cultural theories... that shit changes you..I... well, it's that whole perspective re: knowledge: the more I learn, the less I know..


Anyway, this poem wasn't written with Thompson in mind, but I thought of her after writing it. I'm still unsure... but for now, I'm leaving it for a few days, at least.:



Mother,

Was crippled

Carrying a knock-off life

In a knock-off bag

Each tooth of its zipper

Whispered, Don't open me!

Open me!

Don't open me!

Open me!

Don't.

Do.

Don't

Do

Its fake leather skin hides

That Mother

Is tw itch ing

In her own

Inside, the faded cotton lining

Is too thin to hold

The secrets that spit

From Mother’s hands, groping

For another f ragme nt

Pressed against rigid hips

Each side of the bag

Has the beginnings of holes

That quietly unthread,

Mother

(Mother)

(Mother)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page